With over 100 businesses which are dog friendly all year round – there’s lots to do in the city centre with your pups.

A regular fixture in national polls as one of the UK’s top dog-friendly cities, St Albans has a huge variety of attractions, cafés, pubs, shops, and restaurants that warmly welcome dogs.

Please ensure your dog is kept on a lead at all times in the city centre.

Visiting by train?

St Albans is easily accessible in under 20 minutes from London St Pancras International. On the GTR services, you are allowed two domestic pets on leads.

London Northwestern Railway (LNR) runs regular services from St Albans Abbey to Watford Junction along the picturesque Abbey Line. All services are dog friendly with no extra charge to bring your pet with you when you’re enjoying a day out by train.

Dog friendly business list

Attraction

St Albans Cathedral   Sumpter Yard  www.stalbanscathedral.org  Dogs welcome inside

St Albans City FC  Clarence Park Stadium, St Albans AL1 4NF  https://www.stalbanscityfc.com/ Dogs welcome

Hotels

The White Hart Hotel  23-25 Holywell Hill  www.whiteharthotelstalbans.co.uk Dogs welcome inside
Travelodge  53 St Peter’s St  www.travelodge.co.uk Dogs welcome inside

Shop

Anthropologie  13 – 15 Market Pl  www.antropologie.com  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl
Accessorize  The Maltings  www.accessorize.com  Dogs welcome inside
Bespoke Flooring  26 George St  www.bespokeflooringherts.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Black Eyewear  20 George St  www.blackeyewear.com  Dogs welcome inside
Books on the Hill  1 Holywell Hill www.books-on-the-hill.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl
Boots  9 St Peters St www.boots.com Small dogs welcome inside
Chaos City Comics  Heritage Cl  www.chaoscitycomics.com  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl
Chloe James  12 High St  www.chloejameslifestyle.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl
Christopher Wharton  1-2 George St  www.whartongoldsmith.com   Dogs welcome inside
Clarks  5 – 7 St Peter’s St  www.clarks.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Copperfield  3-5 Chequer St  www.copperfieldshop.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl
Cositas  Holywell Hill www.cositas.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Cotswold  The Maltings  www.cotswoldoutdoor.com  Dogs welcome inside
Crew Clothing  3 St Peter’s St  www.crewclothing.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Empire Records  Heritage Cl www.empirestalbans.com  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl
Eyes On  St Albans 63 The Quadrant www.eyesonstalbans.com  Dogs welcome inside
Fatface  16 – 18 Chequer St  www.fatface.com  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog treats
Flying Tiger  Christopher Pl  www.flyingtiger.com  Dogs welcome inside
Galio  4 George St  www.galio.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Gallery Rouge  27 Chequers St  www.galleryrouge.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
H&M  The Maltings  www.hm.com Dogs welcome inside
Harriet Kelsall Bespoke Jewellery  20 Chequer St  www.hkjewellery.co.uk Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl, Bespoke pet themed jewellery and dog tags                                                Hidden Hearing 10 Market Place https://www.hiddenhearing.co.uk/  Dogs welcome inside
Hobbs  Christopher Pl  www.hobbs.com  Dogs welcome inside
Jane & Dada  33 High Street  Dogs welcome inside
Jigsaw  Christopher Place  www.jigsaw-online.com  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl
JoJo Maman Bebe  Christopher Place  www.jojomamanbebe.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Kiss The Maltings  www.instagram.com/kissretail_st_albans/ Dogs welcome inside
L’Occitane  Christopher Place  www.uk.loccitane.com  Dogs welcome inside
Le Creuset  27 Market Pl  www.lecreuset.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Dog food/accessories for purchase, Water bowl
Lush  The Maltings  www.lush.com  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl, Free dog treats
Millets  The Maltings  www.millets.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl
Mint Velvet  13 St Peter’s St  www.mintvelvet.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl
Mooch  The Maltings  Dogs welcome inside
Molten Brown  37a Market Pl  www.moltonbrown.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Neal’s Yard Remedies  Christopher Pl  www.nealsyardremedies.com  Dogs welcome inside
New Look  The Maltings  www.newlook.com  Dogs welcome inside
Oliver Bonas The Maltings  www.oliverbonas.com  Dogs welcome inside, Dog products/accessories
Olivia Rose Fairtrade  7-8 The Village Arcade  Dogs welcome inside
Panda Cards  3 Waddington Rd  Dogs welcome inside
Pandora  The Maltings  www.uk.pandora.net  Dogs welcome inside, Pet inspired jewelry
Phase Eight  Christopher Pl  www.phase-eight.com  Dogs welcome inside
Raindrops on Roses  15 High St  www.raindropsonroses.org.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl
Robert Dyas  45-47 St Peter’s St  www.robertdyas.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Dog food/accessories for purchase, Free dog treats
Rug Maker  42 Verulam Rd www.rug-maker.com  Dogs welcome inside
Ryman  Chequer St  www.ryman.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Schuh  The Maltings  www.schuh.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Space NK  Christopher Pl  www.spacenk.com  Dogs welcome inside
Sweaty Betty  33 Market Pl  www.sweatybetty.com  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl
Terzetto Stone & Porcelain  7 Chequer St  www.terzettostone.co.uk   Dogs welcome inside
The Body Shop   The Maltings  www.thebodyshop.com  Dogs welcome inside
The Dressing Room  6 – 8 High St  www.the-dressingroom.com  Dogs welcome inside
The Flower Box  23 George St  www.flowerboxstalbans.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog treats
The Television & Movie Store  The Maltings  www.tvnorich.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
The White Company  Christopher Place  www.thewhitecompany.com  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl
Tomika Spirits Boutique  Christopher Place @tomikaspiritsboutique Dogs welcome inside
Trespass  The Maltings  www.trespass.com  Dogs welcome inside
Up We Pop  The Maltings  Dogs welcome inside
Waterstones  8 St Peter’s St  www.waterstones.com  Dogs welcome inside
Whistles  Christopher Pl  www.whistles.com  Dogs welcome inside
WH Smith  25 Market Pl  www.whsmith.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
White Stuff  21 Market Pl  www.whitestuff.com  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
Wilko  The Maltings  www.wilko.com Dogs welcome inside

Hair & Beauty

Bouyage  The Maltings  www.bouyage.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Clipso  The Maltings  www.clipso.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Lee Moran Hair Salon 60 Holywell Hill  www.lee-moran.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Trinder Hair Studios  21 George St  www.trinderhair.com  Dogs welcome inside

Services

Barclays Bank 16-18 St Peter’s St –  Dogs welcome inside
Metro Bank 77 St Peter’s St – Dogs welcome inside
Redbourn Auto Solutions 9-10 Redbourn Industrial Estate www.www.redbournautosolutions.co.uk Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats

Eat & Drink

Abigail’s Tea Room  Village Arcade  – Dogs welcome
Alban’s Well  55 – 57 St Peter’s St  www.albanswell.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Aspava at the Arena Civic Cl  www.aspava.uk  Dogs welcome inside (small)
Beech House  St Peter’s St  www.beechhousestalbans.co.uk Dogs welcome inside
Bill’s  2 Chequer St  www.bills-website.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl, Dog menu
Blacksmiths Arms  56 St Peter’s St  www.crafted-social.co.uk  Dogs welcome
Cafe on the corner  39 Catherine St   www.cvt.org.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Water bowl
Caffe Nero  30-32 Market Pl  www.caffenero.com  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
Co.Natur Deli & Cafe  5 French Row  www.facebook.com/conatur.deli.cafe/  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl
Courtyard Cafe  11 Hatfield Rd  www.coutyardcafestalbans.co.uk/  Dogs welcome
Craft & Cleaver  62 Catherine St  www.craftcleaver.co.uk  Dogs welcome
Crepaffaire  37 Market Pl  www.crepeaffaire.com  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl
Dylans at The Kings Arms  George St  www.dylanskingsarms.com  Dogs welcome inside
Exquisite Peacock  The Maltings  –  Dogs welcome inside
Fade to Black  65 The Quadrant  www.fadetoblackwine.com  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
George Street Canteen 9a George St  www.georgestreetcanteen.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Dog food/accessories for purchase, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
Great Northern Pub & Kitchen  172 London Rd  Dogs welcome inside, Dog food/accessories for purchase, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
Green Man  31 High St  www.greenmansandridge.co.uk Dogs welcome
Hare & Hounds  104 Sopwell Ln – Dogs welcome
HATCH  20 Holywell Hill  www.hatchstalbans.com Dogs welcome
HiTea  The Maltings  www.myhitea.com  Dogs welcome inside
Inn on the Park  Verulamium Park  www.inn-on-the-park.com  Dogs welcome inside, Dog food/accessories for purchase, Free dog water bowl
Joe & the Juice St Peter’s St  www.joejuice.com Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl
Jolly Sailor  Stonecross  www.thejollysailorpub.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
Knoops   Market Pl  www.knoops.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Leafy  Christopher Place  www.leafy.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl
Lower Red Lion  36 Fishpool St – Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
Mad Squirrel Tap  Heritage Cl  www.madsquirrelbrew.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
Megan’s at the Old Bell  22 Chequer St  www.megans.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl
Nkora  26 Market Pl  www.nkora.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Prae Wood Arms  Garden House Ln  www.brunningandprice.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
Saint & Sinner  16 St Peter’s St  www.thesaintandsinner.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Dog menu
Silver Palate   Market Pl  www.silverpalate.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
Smallford Farm Shop  Hatfield Rd  www.smallfordfarmshop.com  Dogs welcome inside, Dog food/accessories for purchase, Free dog water bowl
Starbucks  11 High St  www.starbucks.co.uk   Dogs welcome inside
Speckled Hen  Hatfield Rd  www.greeneking.co.uk Dogs welcome
St Albans Cathedral Refectory: Abbot’s Kitchen St Albans Cathedral  www.stalbanscathedral.org  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
The Boot Market Place  www.facebook.com/thebootstalbans/ Dogs welcome
The Cock Inn  48 St Peter’s St  www.thecockinnstalbans.co.uk Dogs welcome
The Crooked Billet Free House  88 High St  www.thecrookedbilletpub.com  Dogs welcome
The Crown  144-146 Hatfield Rd  http://www.crownstalbans.com/ Dogs welcome
The Elephant & Castle Amwell Ln  www.theelephantandcastle.co.uk Dogs welcome inside, Dog food/accessories for purchase, Dog menu for purchase, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
The Garibaldi  61 Albert St  www.garibaldistalbans.co.uk Dogs welcome
The Goat Inn  37 Sopwell Ln  www.goatinn.co.uk Dogs welcome
The King Harry  2 King Harry Ln  www.thekingharrystalbans.co.uk Dogs welcome
The Mermaid  98 Hatfield Rd  www.facebook.com/mermaidstalbans Dogs welcome
The Peahen  14 London Rd  www.peahenstalbans.co.uk Dogs welcome
The Plough  Sleapshyde Ln  www.ploughstalbans.com Dogs welcome
The Portland  Arms Portland St  www.portlandarmsstalbans.com Dogs welcome
The Potting Shed Cafe  106 St Albans Rd  www.pottingshedcafe.com Dogs welcome
The Queen’s Head  7 Church End www.facebook.com/Thequeensheadsandridge Dogs welcome
The Rats Castle  246 Hatfield Rd  www.the-rats-castle  Dogs welcome
The Robin Hood  126 Victoria St  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
The Rose and Crown  24 High St  www.roseandcrownpubsandridge.co.uk Dogs welcome
The Six Bells  16-18 St Michael’s Street  www.the-six-bells.com   Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
The Snug  1 French Row  www.thesnugbar.co.uk/st-albans   Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
The Verulam  41 Lower Dagnall St  www.theverulam.co.uk Dogs welcome
The Victoria St Albans 82 Victoria St  www.victoriastalbans.co.uk Dogs welcome
The Waffle House  St Michael’s St  www.wafflehouse.co.uk Dogs welcome
The White Swan  1 Upper Dagnall St Dogs welcome
Tikka Nation  1-2 Wax House Gate www.tikkanation.com  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl, Free dog treats
TOAST  6 Waddington Rd  www.toaststalbans.com  Dogs welcome inside, Free dog water bowl
Tudors  23-25 Holywell Hill  www.whiteharthotelstalbans.co.uk  Dogs welcome inside
White Lion  91 Sopwell Ln  www.whitelion-pub.co.uk/ Dogs welcome
Wicked Lady St Albans  Nomansland  www.thewickedladypub.co.uk  Dogs welcome
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks  16 Abbey Mill Ln  www.fightingcockssa.com Dogs welcome